Patient – Transplantation

Rigshospitalet is a tertiary University hospital. The department of Nephrology performs renal transplantation for a background population of approximately 2.5 million including Greenland and the Faroe Island. The department has a total of 27 medical doctors of which 16 are permanent staff members and specialists in nephrology, 6 are in educational programmes for nephrology and 5 are interns.

We have doctors present at the ward 24h/7d and nephrology specialists on call 24h/7d. The department performs approximately 100 renal transplantations per year and takes care of 500 renal transplant patients on an outpatient basis. We perform approximately 300 biopsies from renal graft/native kidney per year. The department are continuously participating in clinical multicentre studies and have attached GCP certified study nurses.